Reviews

Falcao - 89 - Europa SBC
4.5
WHAT a bargain
By hisashirockz, 23-02-2019

Rivals: DIV 4

Weekend League: Gold 2 mostly


I don't think this review will be published by the time the SBC is over, but I'm gonna write it down anyway. So up until recently, I have been using UCL live Cavani to partner my RTTF Ben Yedder upfront. The idea was to have more dimensions in my attack by having two opposite type of players. Cavani scores many goals for me, he delivers, but sometimes can be frustrating to use (if you're interested please check my out my other review for UCL Cavani). And in truth, in ligue 1, there are not too many options for a striker. So I was excited by the prospect of this card. And you won't believe how cheap this card is. As I'm writing right now, the coins needed to complete the SBC is 44K. That is equivalent to the cheapest 89 card out there like Isco and David Silva, and you get 30K and 35k pack back. So in theory you should make profit just by completing this card. I thought this was very nice from EA. 


Now, given that the card is cheap, I did not expect much out of the card. I was going to try replacing Cavani with him for a few games, and if it does not work, put Cavani back in. But it has been 25 games running (all rivals), 34 goals and 11 assist later, I don't think I'm putting Cavani back in anytime soon. I keep wondering how did EA manage to release a card with this quality so cheap?


Let me show you a little fact to see how good the value of this card is. So out of all the 89 rated players in FIFA 19, Falcao's SHOOTING stats is the highest compared to everyone at 92. This is better than 500K mid Shearer, mid Lineker and baby Van Basten. It is even better than 3 million baby Eusebio. I know just looking at a single stats does not prove anything, but I want you to realize what a bargain this card is and how this card is made with one single mind, GOALS.


Grading policy:

I grade each respective categories based on the base/game stats, and how well they perform relative to that expectation. So, if a person has a 70 pace stats, and his run feels like 70, I would give him the same grade to that category, which is 7. And I would scale the grade up and down based on how they out-perform / under-perform their own stats. 


Chem used: Architect.

Used Position: ST


PACE: 8.5/10

If the 76 pace put you off, I tell you worry not. This card does not feel slow in game, and it runs like 80 something. I used UCL Live Cavani and Benzema who had 80 something pace before, and believe me, Falcao's run feels faster than any of them. And I don't even boost this part with any chemistry.


ATTACKING PROWESS: 10/10

This is without a doubt, a solid perfect 10. Not only the ridiculous amount of goals that he scores, but it is also his general involvement in the forward play. For me, Cavani was good and efficient, but he is most often missing from the game than not. Falcao possesses equal if not better attacking instinct, and make sure that his presence is felt throughout the game. And he is not wasteful either. My RTTF Ben Yedder scores TONS of goals, yet misses half of them. Falcao, will bury 4 out of the 5 chances that he has. Right foot, left foot, header, volley, you name it. Though a bit short, he has 99 jumping and 96 heading accuracy. I even scored 3 overhead kick out the 34 he scored so far. I don't give any boost to his attacking stats with them because I thought it would be wasteful and it is good as it is.


PASSING & DRIBBLING 8.5/10

I find that Falcao's passing and dribbling is not spectacular, but they complete Falcao's game as a whole. Dribbling with him is not heavy and he is pretty quick to turn. Passing is a bit weak at the start, so boosting that with a chemistry is essential depending on how you play. I use architect on mine, and it has been doing wonders so far. In general, I'm more than pleased with his passing and dribbling. 


PHYSICALITY 9/10

He is not weak to start with, but could use a little boost to his strength and aggression. Thats why I use architect on him to boost both stats to 92, and I assure you, he can't be budged. It is not easy to steal the ball away from him and he can shrug the defender pretty easy. The stamina looks low in a glance, but I never had any problem with it. Playing him as a striker with stay forward instruction will keep him fresh for the whole game (even extra time).


OVR:9.5/10

If the SBC is alive by the time this review is published. Let me tell you, COMPLETE THE SBC now. Even if you don't need the player, you will get two packs with total 65K value, plus an 89 card with around 45k value. So it is basically FREE PACKS. You are being paid by EA to receive a single card. There is no way you will make loss out of this SBC. And if for some reason you decide to try him out, you will not regret it. The BEST value of a card that I have ever seen in FUT. He is pretty hard to linked, but he is good enough for most of the 1st team squad out there. But if not, the bench. If not, a free SBC fodder. Anyway you want to use it. For me though, this card has been a magnificent striker and I am planning to keep him for a bit more.


+ Killer instinct for goals

+ The best shooting stats among the 89 rated striker

+ Good pace, good dribble

+ Very fun to use

+ One and only card design

- A bit lacking in height

- Passing need to boosted by chem

Formation: 41212
Position: ST
Games: 25
GPG: 1.36
APG: 0.44
4.5
Overall
5.0
Value
5.0
GC
4.0
Stamina
Pace (8/10)
Shooting (10/10)
Passing (8/10)
Dribbling (9/10)
Defending (5/10)
Physicality (9/10)
4.5
OMG
By joerobson14, 23-02-2019

Early, I know but this may be the greatest value sbc EA have ever released. For 50k you have one of the best strikers and it can be made even cheaper if you already have an inform in your club which I didn't. Mainly being employed as a super sub, falcao saved my arse so many times across this weekend.

His heading is genuinely ridiculous. 99 jumping and 96 heading makes him an ideal target man when you're chasing a game.

Surprisingly his dribbling is mental considering he's usually a target man.

Pace, this can be fixed using a hunter but still at 85 pace compared to other high tier strikers he is very slow.

Defending but no one cares about that

Formation: 433-4
Position: ST
Games: 10
GPG: 1.10
APG: 0.20
4.5
Overall
5.0
Value
4.5
GC
4.0
Stamina
Pace (7/10)
Shooting (10/10)
Passing (7/10)
Dribbling (9/10)
Defending (4/10)
Physicality (8/10)
4.5
EL TIGREEEEEE - King of the Europa League
By DanM1992, 22-02-2019

Before I start anything - If you are a player who abuses pace, stop reading now, this card is not for you.


When the Falcao SBC popped up I thought "wow another expensive sbc" then I checked on FUTBIN and couldn't believe my eyes that he was only 44k. Little did I know, this card is about ten times cheaper than what it should be worth - he is INSANE.


Pace - Lacking on the pace side of things so I stuck a hunter on him. I know it might seem wasted on the shooting but I thought what harm can being good at shooting everywhere to do when he's a bit behind on the pace. the benefit of the Hunter card is that it bumps his agility up to a meaty 88. that mixed with 84 sprint speed he's more than nippy enough to skip past a defender or two before banging a goal in the top corner.


Dribbling - Awesome. Keeps the ball close to his feet, sometimes has a bit of a ropey first touch but for the majority he's absolutely solid. Low (ish) agility isn't an issue, dribbles like most players do minus the flair and flicks. Solid player and with 95 reactions and 95 composure you can't ask for more out of a striker.


Shooting - He's just an animal. You can shoot from more or less anywhere and it's either a goal or at very least on target challenging the keeper. His finesse shots are top corner every time, his laced shots are so powerful I'm surprised keepers aren't just parrying them into the net afterwards. He's as clinical as you could expect somebody to be and with the hunter the shooting stats are just OP to the point that the keepers might as well just stand there and watch it sail past, over or under them.


Defending - only positive here is the heading accuracy - 17 goals, 9 of which are headers. The man is a salmon. Can't tackle to save his life, but he can jump. It can be an issue sometimes with bigger defenders (Koulibaly, Van Dijk etc) but for the most part he beats anybody at front post.


Passing - This is probably the worst for Falcao. He's got 82 short passing and 86 curve. That's pretty much all there is to say about him in terms of passing. He's got okay enough passing to knock it between strikers or play an okay through ball (He's got 12 assists for me) but anything over the top, crossed or long distance is either massively over or underweighted. Keep it short and you're golden.


Physicality - the first thing your eyes come to is 74 stamina. Ignore it. He's fine for 90 minutes until about his 3rd or 4th game when he's starting it with 83/84 stamina he's knackered after about 60 or 70. He can finish the game but don't expect much sprinting out of him for long. Jumping - 99. Like I said he's a Salmon, bare in mind again, he's only 5 foot 10 he isn't going to beat a 6 foot 6 centre back but anybody similar ish height or just taller you're laughing. 82 strength and 82 aggression is nice to have - he isn't a monster enough to push 3 defenders away and smash one in but he can quite easily muscle past a couple of defender through a gap and do that, it's just knowing which defenders you will and won't beat by common sense.


All in all for 40k he's a bargain and what a super sub to have as well.


Recommend picking him up before the SBC runs out, even if you don't want him in your team, 40k for an 89 rated bit of SBC fodder is a bargain.

  • Shooting
  • Dribbling
  • Pace (Sometimes)
  • Jumping & Heading Accuracy
  • Strength & Aggression
  • Defending
  • Stamina (Sometimes)
  • Long Passing / Over the top balls
Formation: 4222
Position: ST
Games: 15
GPG: 1.13
APG: 0.80
4.5
Overall
5.0
Value
4.5
GC
3.5
Stamina
Pace (8/10)
Shooting (10/10)
Passing (7/10)
Dribbling (10/10)
Defending (6/10)
Physicality (8/10)
5.0
A Pure Finisher
By Jamos29, 02-03-2019

When I learned how cheap and easy the Squad Building Challenge was for this card I thought why no, I don't have a good Ligue 1 striker for objectives anymore. I completed him and built a very basic Ligue 1 squad around him featuring Rabiot, Kimpembe, Upgraded Depay and Headliner Marquinhos, I would switch formations to a 4-3-3(4) playing Depay at LW and Nakata at RW. I expected a few headed goals and some decent finishing after applying a Finisher Chemistry Style (which gives Falcao 99 Shooting in every stat apart from Penalties which is 98). I was shocked and overjoyed to discover that this man finishes everything from everywhere, with minimum effort to guide the ball into the top left corner he hits the target 9/10 times. His small and stocky frame allow him to hold the ball well and beat defenders better than some of his taller counterparts. I can be honest and say his stamina could be better and his defending is pretty poor but that's not his job, it's not his fault if you're making him track back to the edge of his own box all the time.


In short if you give him good service he will convert your efforts into goals without much trouble.

  • Effortless finishing
  • Reasonable Pace
  • Good Strength
  • Best Positioning
  • Good Dribbling
  • Good Balance
  • 4 Star Weak Foot
  • Enough Passing to get by
  • 3 Star Skills
  • Doesn't score as many headers as you would expect
  • Poor Defending
  • A little low on Stamina
  • Doesn't work well if he drifts wide
Formation: 4321
Position: ST
Games: 20
GPG: 1.90
APG: 0.00
5.0
Overall
5.0
Value
5.0
GC
4.0
Stamina
Pace (8/10)
Shooting (10/10)
Passing (8/10)
Dribbling (9/10)
Defending (6/10)
Physicality (9/10)
5.0
More than SBC fodder
By Gramegatron, 25-02-2019

It was a no brainer to pick up UEL Moments Falcao given the SBC requirements. I am a huge fan of target forwards with clinical finishing and based on Falcao's in game stats he certainly caught my eye as I decided at the worst it was an 89 rated player to submit in an SBC, however he exceeded expectations incredibly. I played him up top in a 4-1-2-1-2 (2) to the left of Flashback Torres, and subbed him on in the first minute meaning we has also only on 6 chemistry. I used him in Weekend league and for the very first time this year I managed to finish in Gold 1 and it was largely thanks to Falcao. He is not the player that does it all himself but he just finds the space in the box for the through ball to be fed for EL Tigre to devour. When you get him through on goal or with space outside the box he is one of the most clinical forwards I have used this year. Right foot, left foot, headers, he scores them all. Get him in behind the defence and he has the pace to stay ahead and muscle off of even the likes of flashback David Luiz to put the ball in the net. If you have him in your club give him a try in a Ligue 1 players, with Colombians like HL Zapata or Cuadrado or even sub him in like I did. You must use the card as it is, a poacher, and must not try to light the world on fire and get him to score by himself by a dribble run or scoring longshots outside 25 yards and the goals will flow swiftly.

  • Finishing
  • Weak foot (he doesn't have one)
  • Headers
  • Positioning to make space for himself
  • Close control dribbling, especially in the box
  • Near post headers on corners
  • Strength
  • Jumping, absolutely soars to win headers
  • Hold up play
  • Pace if I'm picky, doesn't rely on pace to score his goals
  • Height, however with jumping it's not a noticeable deficit
Formation: 41212-2
Position: ST
Games: 16
GPG: 1.50
APG: 0.25
5.0
Overall
5.0
Value
4.5
GC
4.0
Stamina
Pace (7/10)
Shooting (9/10)
Passing (8/10)
Dribbling (8/10)
Defending (3/10)
Physicality (9/10)